Version française  English Version

Holidays in the departement Puy de Dôme

© ADDT 63
Combrailles area... along the waters edge

The exceptionally pure waters of the River Sioule flow through the Combrailles – a land of water, lakes and streams. Panoramic viewpoints overlooking the Chain of Puys or overhanging the River Sioule such as at the Méandre de Queuille contribute to make this a truly magical landscape.

© ADDT 63 the crossroads

Clermont- Ferrand's only claim to fame used to be the Michelin tyre factory and its black cathedral spires... Today the city has now changed beyond recognition. With its lively, pedestrianized streets, a really popular, brand new tram service and chic, fashionable restaurants, the city is enjoying its renaissance. The Puy de Dôme volcano that lends its name to the département and is currently being classified as a ëGrand Site National' (major site of national importance) casts its watchful eye over the city together with the Gergovie plateau famous for the victory battle of Vercingétorix versus Caesar

© ADDT 63
Sancy-Volcanoes...volcanic explosion

With its volcanoes - young and dormant or old and extinct, domes, puys, cones, craters, lakes and peat land – rich and diverse are two words which really capture the essence of this landscape unique in Europe. Nature in all its purity dominates this vast area which stretches from the Chain of Puys in the north to the Cézallier plateau in the south, passing through ski resorts and spa towns that offer numerous facilities for young and old alike (Family Plus label).

© ADDT 63
Riom-Limagne Area... Land of Art & History

Between Clermont-Ferrand and Vichy, stretches the fertile land of the Limagne plain. Traditional dovecots and enchanting character properties set against the shimmering colours of the wide-open expanses of cereal crops bear witness to the glorious historical past of the area. In Riom, the former royal capital of the Auvergne, history is written all over the facades of its interesting buildings. Feast your eyes on the giant volcanic peaks of the nearby Chain of Puys.

© ADDT 63
Livradois-Forez...or the ëAuvergne of the Rising Sun'

The Parc Naturel du Livradois-Forez (Livradois-Forez nature park), although more discreet than its volcanic neighbour, has just as much to offer. It is a mountainous landscape marked by passes, ridges and small valleys, home to craftsmen who for centuries have produced cutlery and paper. The Livradois-Forez shares the same colour and strength of character as the local cheese that symbolizes it – the Fourme d'Ambert, a blend of softness and strength, rugged and generous.

© ADDT 63
Issoire Area – Allier Valley... with a Tuscan-like flavour...

The River Allier flows through a picturesque landscape of vineyards and golden coloured villages perched on high, some of which are classed among the ëPlus Beaux Villages de France' (literally some of the most beautiful villages of France). This ochre hued valley opens the way to the south. Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy a health treatment in Saint-Nectaire or discover the high Cézallier plateau. Completing the journey through to the Sancy mountains, this vast area of open, flowered heath land, offers a certain luminosity and atmosphere that is nothing short of irresistible.

Visit the website :

Version française  English Version

Vacances dans le département du Puy de Dôme

BIENVENUE SUR LA PLANETE PUY-DE-DÔME

© ADDT 63
Pays des Combrailles... Au fil de l'eau

Traversé par la Sioule, rivière d'une qualité exceptionnelle notamment pour la pureté de ses eaux, le plateau des Combrailles est le pays de l'eau et compte nombre d'étangs et de ruisseaux. Le panorama sur la chaîne des Puys et quelques belvédères en surplomb de la Sioule, tel celui du Méandre de Queuille, en font un territoire magique pour ses paysages.

© ADDT 63
Clermont-Volcans... Concentré de tendances

De Clermont-Ferrand on ne connaîtrait que sa pierre noire et Michelin... Il suffit de la regarder pour comprendre que cette ville là n'est plus la même : des rues piétonnes animées, un tramway flambant neuf et plébiscité par tous les clermontois, des restaurants chics, tendances et tout aussi appréciés... Une ville nouvelle sans conteste sur laquelle veille le volcan éponyme du département, le puy de Dôme, en cours de classement Grand site National et le plateau de Gergovie, célèbre pour la bataille victorieuse de Vercingétorix contre César.

© ADDT 63
Sancy-Volcans... Explosion volcanique

Volcans jeunes, endormis, vieux, éteints... Dômes, puys, cônes, cratères, lacs, tourbières. Ici, richesse et diversité sont maîtres mots pour décrire des paysages uniques en Europe. Règne de la nature à l'état pur, le territoire s'étend de la chaîne des Puys au nord au plateau du Cézallier au sud, en passant par les stations thermales et de sports d'hiver qui offrent de nombreux services pour les petits et grands.

© ADDT 63
Pays de Riom-Limagne... Pays d'Art et d'Histoire

Entre Clermont-Ferrand et Vichy, s'étale la plaine de la Limagne aux terres agricoles riches. Les couleurs chatoyantes des étendues céréalières jalonnées de typiques colombiers mènent toujours vers des demeures enchanteresses, témoignage du passé glorieux de la région. Car Riom fut l'ancienne capitale royale de l'Auvergne. L'histoire s'y lit sur les façades de ses édifices remarquables. Tout à côté, la chaîne des Puys dresse ses géants volcaniques pour vous en mettre plein les yeux.

© ADDT 63
Livradois-Forez... L'Auvergne côté soleil levant

Plus discret que son voisin volcanique, le Parc Naturel Régional du Livradois-Forez n'en offre pas moins de richesses, révélant un paysage montagnard de cols et de crêtes, et abritant de petites vallées où sont installés depuis des siècles les artisans couteliers et papetiers. Le Livradois-Forez a la couleur et le caractère du fromage AOC qui le symbolise, la fourme d'Ambert, à la fois doux et corsé, rude et généreux.

© ADDT 63
Pays d'Issoire Val d'Allier... Un petit air toscan

De part et d'autre de la rivière Allier, se découvrent des paysages pittoresques, des terroirs vignerons et des villages perchés aux pierres blondes, dont certain sont classés «Plus beaux villages de France». Cette vallée aux couleurs ocre ouvre la voie du sud. Une étape de remise en forme à Saint-Nectaire ou une découverte du haut plateau du Cézallier s'imposent. Assurant la liaison vers le massif du Sancy, les vastes landes fleuries du plateau charment par leur lumière et leur atmosphère... irrésistibles.

Visitez le site : www.planetepuydedome.com

Retrouvez tous les hébergements Clévacances du Puy-de-Dôme sur www.clevacancespuydedome.com/